Posting Because I’m Alive…

September 13, 2011 at 10:50 pm 1 comment

What a horrible title is that? It kind of sums everything up nicely though. It’s been a tiring week, and it’s only Tuesday.

Actually, today went really well, especially considering I don’t even have a planning period on Tuesdays. Yet here it is, 10:30 at night, I’ve only finished the work I absolutely have to have finished by tomorrow, my to do list is still out the door, I’m tired, and I’m completely lacking any form of motivation. Why does teaching have to be so tiring? Will this really be what the rest of my career is like?

I have no intention of turning this into my personal whining platform, but I do struggle with separating the everyday issues of managing a classroom with my own personal success as a teacher. I absolutely know that I have what it takes to be a good teacher, but the constant fight to keep students in line leaves me wondering whether or not this is something I want to put up with long-term. I have so many outside interests and ambitions, but the continuous life-sucking drain of dealing with obnoxious charming middle schoolers leaves me absolutely ambition-less.

I suppose it will get better. Despite my current pessimism, today really was a good day. My students were engaged, they progressed, and participated well, even if it to the extreme of being extremely chatty.

Here’s hoping that some day it actually feels like I’m educating students, not just playing at teacher.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Welcome to Arizona! Here’s to a new week

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Chet Thomas  |  September 15, 2011 at 7:20 am

    Don’t worry, it gets better. As you get older, managing a class become easier simply because the kids are more intimidated by an older teacher who looks like they might tear someone limb from limb.

    Trust me, you are having more of an impact than you realize. In some ways, teaching is like watching paint dry while alligator wrestling: it is painful, exhausting, and you feel drained at the end of every day, but there is progress, even if it can be frustratingly slow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Older Posts


